Hardware hacking

Everybody needs a hobby. My new hobby might be hardware hacking.

It’s getting to the point where Linux on the desktop is just another computer system. Linux Mint is great but it doesn’t feel like Linux. There is no sense of a frontier.

I’m getting very interested in a wide range of ARM products that can use uCLinux.

http://www.uclinux.org/description/

However, I need to actually obtain appropriate hardware, and it would truly be helpful to have some level of tech support. The present blog could be used to post project updates, but there are few interested parties other than myself to read such updates.

If I wanted to contribute something of value, I could write some hardware hacking tutorials.

There are already quite a few real hackers out there who provide some examples:

http://scurgeofhacking.blogspot.tw/2012/02/how-to-get-your-pcbs-manufactured.html

In fact, because I don’t actually know this territory, my documents are more likely to resemble an explorer’s log rather than a howto that can teach other people how to get to a desired result.

I think that is acceptable. Electrical engineering isn’t exactly cheap. People put up video blogs about their mass-produced sandwiches, which are cheap; a blog about amateur attempts at electrical engineering represents a greater outlay of effort. Even if the end result isn’t as good as a MOOC from MIT, it might still be worth looking at for some kind of audience.

And if I don’t get an audience, I can just abandon the journal!

Leave a Reply

